Best Breakfast Place, 432 Parliament St.

2 stars (out of 5)

Don't trip on the "A" going in.

I’ve been to A LOT of breakfast places in Toronto, so I think I can say, with some authority, that Best Breakfast Place…isn’t!

Not by a long shot. But it is one of the least expensive. The 4.50 breakfast special gets you 3 eggs, bacon, ham or sausage, home fries, toast and orange juice or one coffee.  <Foreshadowing>

Lets start with the OJ. I didn’t, but wish I had. It was translucent, orange-ish, and “better than Tang”, according to one of my breakfast-mates. The coffee was horrible. It was the worst coffee on my “Breakfast Places” list. I wouldn’t have ordered a second cup and hadn’t finished my first, but when another of my breakfast companions (the one without taste-buds) ordered a refill, I thought “why not?  Maybe this one will be different”. It wasn’t. To add insult to injury, they charged for this refill.

The toast was standard, the home fries were pretty good, and the eggs were poorly prepared. The five meals came out slowly, two-at-a-time with the last one a good 5 minutes after the fourth. (There were 5 of us.) It was almost like they had never prepared breakfasts before.  Odd, based on the name of the restaurant.

If you’re in the neighbourhood, go to Johnny G’s, significantly better and only a block or so north.

Or better yet, but another 5 minutes on, Chew Chew’s Diner on Carleton.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

